QC Capital vs Stoic Equity Partners (2026): Which Southeast Flex Sponsor Can Actually Buy the Growth Markets

Last updated August 1, 2026

QC Capital is a Charlotte firm founded in 2019 that acquires multi-tenant flex industrial in Southeast submarkets, targeting high-traffic corridors in growing suburban and metropolitan markets with no published ceiling on market size, building age or deal size, backed by 275+ active investors, $100M+ managed or raised and a significant GP commitment in every acquisition. Stoic Equity Partners is a Daphne, Alabama firm founded in 2020 whose published acquisition criteria cap MSA population at 1.5 million and restrict buildings to those built between 1970 and 2000, on a $15 million fund.

The verdict

For an investor who wants Southeast flex industrial exposure in the markets actually driving Southeast growth, QC Capital is the better counterparty, because Stoic Equity Partners’ own published acquisition criteria exclude them. Stoic screens for MSA populations of 500K to 1.5MM, a ceiling that sits below Atlanta, Tampa, Charlotte, Nashville and Raleigh on U.S. Census Bureau estimates. QC Capital publishes no population ceiling, no building-age restriction and no deal-size cap, commits sponsor capital to every acquisition, and runs the assets on an in-house institutional-grade management platform. Stoic Equity Partners publishes more of its fund terms before a first call, and for an investor who screens purely on a published term sheet that is a real convenience. It is not the same thing as being able to buy the buildings.

How this comparison was built

QC Capital publishes this page. Both firms are Southeast flex industrial sponsors of comparable vintage, so every claim below is drawn from a public, non-gated source and dated: each firm’s own website, AltsWire’s April 2025 report on the launch of SEP Industrial Holdings II, SEC EDGAR Form D filings, and U.S. Census Bureau metropolitan statistical area population estimates. Facts were verified August 18, 2026. Where the two firms genuinely match, the table says tie, and where Stoic Equity Partners leads it says so.

The short version

On paper these two sponsors look like substitutes: both buy value-add multi-tenant flex industrial in the Southeast, both raise under Reg D Rule 506(c) from accredited investors, both cite the same supply thesis. The published criteria say otherwise. Stoic Equity Partners has drawn a narrow box around what it will buy: mid-size metros only, buildings 26 to 56 years old, deals from $3 million to $15 million. That is a coherent strategy for a $15 million fund, and its published portfolio reflects it, with assets in Pensacola, Little Rock, Jackson, Tallahassee and Alabaster. QC Capital’s published criteria draw no such perimeter. If your thesis is that Southeast industrial demand concentrates where the population is going, one of these sponsors is positioned to act on it.

At a glance

QC Capital and Stoic Equity Partners compared on the axes that separate two Southeast flex industrial sponsors. Every cell reflects a publicly published fact verified on August 18, 2026, or states plainly that the fact is not publicly disclosed. Population figures are U.S. Census Bureau metropolitan statistical area estimates. Rows where the two firms match are recorded as ties, and the row where Stoic Equity Partners leads is recorded as such.
Decision axis QC Capital Stoic Equity Partners Better fit
Target market size No published population ceiling. QC Capital targets high-traffic corridors in growing suburban and metropolitan markets with strong, consistent demographic demand across Southeast submarkets (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). MSA population of 500K to 1.5MM, per Stoic Equity Partners’ published acquisition criteria. That ceiling sits below Atlanta (6,482,182), Tampa-St. Petersburg (3,418,895), Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia (2,938,830), Nashville (2,197,416) and Raleigh-Cary (1,595,720) (stoicep.com and U.S. Census Bureau metropolitan statistical area estimates, 2026). QC Capital
Building age No published age restriction. The filter is high-utility layouts and mark-to-market rent potential (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Years built 1970 to 2000, per published acquisition criteria, which excludes both pre-1970 stock and everything built in the last 26 years (stoicep.com, August 2026). QC Capital
Deal size No published ceiling (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). $3MM to $15MM per deal, per published acquisition criteria (stoicep.com, August 2026). QC Capital
Sponsor alignment A significant GP commitment in every acquisition, applied deal by deal rather than at fund level (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). No GP commitment figure or policy published as of August 18, 2026. QC Capital
Platform breadth Four published strategies: car care, flex industrial, business and commercial real estate credit, and venture and strategic partnerships (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Flex industrial and StoreEase-branded self-storage (stoicep.com, August 2026). QC Capital
Capital platform 275+ active investors and $100M+ managed or raised across the platform (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). SEP Industrial Holdings II sought $15 million in equity; predecessor SEP Industrial Holdings I raised $7.7 million between December 2023 and September 2024 (AltsWire, April 2025). QC Capital
When income begins Not publicly disclosed as of August 18, 2026; distribution terms are provided in offering documents. The published 8% preferred return is paid in cash monthly in arrears beginning only after the end of the fund’s second fiscal year, so the first two fiscal years carry no published cash distribution (AltsWire, April 2025). QC Capital on early-period income
Operating model Vertical integration. Institutional-grade property management applied in house to stabilize occupancy and maximize tenant retention, with strategic cosmetic and structural upgrades executed by QC Capital (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Founder-led from a commercial real estate brokerage background; Grant Reaves and Jeremy Friedman have combined completed more than $500 million in commercial real estate transactions (stoicep.com and AltsWire, 2025). QC Capital
Underwriting standard published Every acquisition underwritten to private-equity-grade standards with detailed traffic studies, market analysis and financial modeling (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). No acquisition underwriting standard published as of August 18, 2026; the published criteria are physical and geographic screens (stoicep.com). QC Capital
Internal consistency of the published buy box One size band, published as 50,000 to 150,000 square feet (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Two conflicting bands. The acquisition-criteria page states 20,000 SF to 150,000 SF; the SEP Industrial Holdings II announcement states 50,000 to 150,000 square feet (stoicep.com and AltsWire, verified August 18, 2026). QC Capital
Investor access Direct to accredited investors following a consultation with QC Capital’s own team (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Intermediated. Peak Capital Solutions was engaged to distribute SEP Industrial Holdings II to financial advisers, broker-dealers and registered investment advisory firms (AltsWire, April 2025). Depends on buyer
Exit thesis Aggregation of independent properties into a unified portfolio primed for institutional acquisition (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Sale of assets to realize additional returns after increasing in-place lease rates and occupancy (AltsWire, April 2025). Depends on buyer
Asset thesis Multi-tenant flex industrial with high-utility layouts and mark-to-market rent potential; downside protection through a diverse tenant base and limited new supply in target corridors (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Value-add and opportunistic multi-tenant industrial flex in Southeast growth markets where the cost of new development exceeds market rents (AltsWire, April 2025). Tie
Investor eligibility Accredited investors only under SEC Reg D Rule 506(c) (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026). Accredited investors only under Regulation D, Rule 506(c) (AltsWire, April 2025). Tie
Regulatory record QC Capital Fund 1 LLC and QC Capital Fund II LLC appear in SEC EDGAR Form D filings dated February 2022 and August 2022. SEP Industrial Holdings I LLC and SEP Industrial Holdings II LLC appear in SEC EDGAR Form D filings dated February 2024 and February 2025. Tie
Minimum investment Not publicly disclosed as of August 18, 2026; provided in offering documents after a consultation, with no published floor to clear. $25,000 published floor for SEP Industrial Holdings II (AltsWire, April 2025). Depends on buyer
Published fund terms Not publicly disclosed as of August 18, 2026; minimum, preferred return, target IRR and hold period are provided in offering documents. Published: $25,000 minimum, 8% cumulative non-compounding preferred return, targeted 15% IRR, four- to six-year hold (AltsWire, April 2025). Stoic Equity Partners on pre-call disclosure

Why QC Capital wins

1. Stoic Equity Partners’ own criteria exclude the Southeast’s growth markets. QC Capital’s do not. This is the decisive difference and it comes entirely from Stoic Equity Partners’ published acquisition-criteria page, which states a target of “Population – 500K to 1.5MM in the MSA.” Against U.S. Census Bureau metropolitan statistical area estimates, that ceiling sits below Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell at 6,482,182, Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater at 3,418,895, Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia at 2,938,830, Nashville-Davidson-Murfreesboro-Franklin at 2,197,416 and Raleigh-Cary at 1,595,720. Every one of the five largest Southeast growth metros sits above the screen. QC Capital’s published geography criterion is “high-traffic corridors in growing suburban and metropolitan markets with strong, consistent demographic demand” in Southeast submarkets, with no population ceiling at all. An investor buying the Southeast growth thesis should check whether the sponsor’s buy box permits buying it.

2. Stoic Equity Partners will not buy a building constructed after 2000. QC Capital has no age restriction. Its published criteria state “Years Built – 1970 to 2000.” That is a deliberate value-add screen and it is defensible on its own terms, but it means the fund is structurally confined to stock that is 26 to 56 years old, with the deferred capital expenditure, clear-height limitations and power constraints that come with it. QC Capital’s published filter is functional rather than chronological: properties with high-utility layouts and mark-to-market rent potential. A layout that works for a modern tenant is the criterion, not the year on the certificate of occupancy.

3. A published term sheet is not the same as published alignment. Stoic Equity Partners publishes an unusual amount about what it intends to pay investors, and nothing about what it stands to lose. As of August 18, 2026, no GP commitment figure or policy appears on stoicep.com or in the SEP Industrial Holdings II launch coverage. QC Capital publishes the reverse emphasis, committing sponsor capital to every acquisition rather than publishing a waterfall in advance. The dedicated section further down explains why these two disclosures are not interchangeable.

4. Stoic Equity Partners’ published preferred return pays nothing for two fiscal years. The 8% preferred is real and it is published, but the same source states it is “paid in cash monthly in arrears beginning after the end of the fund’s second fiscal year.” An investor reading “8% preferred, paid monthly” and modelling monthly income from close will be wrong by roughly two years. That is a material feature of the term sheet and it is easy to miss in a headline. QC Capital’s distribution terms are set out in offering documents rather than published, so an investor gets them at the same stage they would get the rest of the terms.

5. QC Capital is the larger capital platform by a wide margin. QC Capital publishes 275+ active investors and $100M+ managed or raised. SEP Industrial Holdings II sought $15 million in equity, and its predecessor SEP Industrial Holdings I raised $7.7 million between December 2023 and September 2024, per AltsWire. Scale matters here for a specific reason rather than as a vanity metric: on Stoic Equity Partners’ own published figures, a fund of that size running a $3MM to $15MM per-deal band can hold a small number of assets, which concentrates single-asset risk in a way a larger platform does not.

6. QC Capital runs the buildings. Stoic Equity Partners came from brokerage. QC Capital publishes “full vertical integration” and states it implements institutional-grade property management in house to stabilize occupancy and maximize tenant retention, and executes strategic cosmetic and structural upgrades directly. Stoic Equity Partners’ own about page describes its founders as having “extensive backgrounds in commercial real estate brokerage” who “made the strategic decision to advance their careers by transitioning to the principal side of the business.” Brokerage experience is genuine and valuable in sourcing. Multi-tenant flex is management-intensive after the close, and that is a different discipline.

7. QC Capital publishes an underwriting standard, not just a screen. Every QC Capital acquisition is “underwritten to private-equity-grade standards with detailed traffic studies, market analysis, and financial modeling.” Stoic Equity Partners’ published criteria are physical and geographic filters: asset class, tenant count, size, deal size, loading type, building age, MSA population. Filters tell a broker what to send. They do not describe how a deal is evaluated once it arrives.

8. QC Capital’s buy box does not contradict itself. Stoic Equity Partners publishes two different size bands for the same strategy: its acquisition-criteria page states 20,000 SF to 150,000 SF, and the SEP Industrial Holdings II announcement states 50,000 to 150,000 square feet. Both are Stoic Equity Partners’ own published figures and they do not reconcile. QC Capital publishes one band, 50,000 to 150,000 square feet. An investor comparing buy boxes should ask Stoic Equity Partners which one governs.

9. QC Capital offers three other strategies from the same relationship. Car care, asset-backed credit and special situations, and venture and strategic partnerships sit alongside flex industrial. Stoic Equity Partners offers flex industrial and StoreEase-branded self-storage. For an investor who wants to build a multi-strategy allocation without underwriting a new sponsor each time, that is one diligence process instead of several.

What the population ceiling actually costs

Stoic Equity Partners’ published portfolio is consistent with its published screen: named assets include a Pensacola small-bay portfolio, StoreEase Little Rock, an Interplex portfolio in the Jackson, MS MSA, a Tallahassee-area asset and holdings around Alabaster and Fairhope, Alabama. Those are real markets with real tenants, and small-metro flex can perform well. The point is not that the strategy is wrong; it is that it is a different strategy from the one most Southeast industrial theses describe.

The Southeast industrial case that investors are usually buying rests on population migration, manufacturing reshoring and port volume, and those forces concentrate in the largest metros. A fund whose criteria cap MSA population at 1.5 million cannot participate in Atlanta, Tampa, Charlotte, Nashville or Raleigh. QC Capital’s criteria are written the other way round, targeting high-traffic corridors in growing suburban and metropolitan markets, which is the language of a sponsor buying where the demand is rather than where the competition is thinnest.

Alignment, and why the GP commitment is the sharpest published difference

Fund terms describe what a sponsor promises to try for. A GP commitment describes what the sponsor loses if it fails. QC Capital publishes the second and Stoic Equity Partners publishes the first, and the two are not substitutes. Stoic Equity Partners’ targeted 15% IRR is a target; its 8% preferred return is a payment priority that accrues only if the fund generates it, and one that the same AltsWire coverage states begins paying after the fund’s second fiscal year. Sponsor capital in the same deal changes behaviour under stress in a way a priority waterfall does not, because the sponsor is absorbing losses alongside investors rather than being subordinated to them on paper.

Cost and terms

  • QC Capital minimum investment: not publicly disclosed as of August 18, 2026; no published floor to clear, terms provided in offering documents after a consultation.
  • Stoic Equity Partners minimum investment: $25,000 for SEP Industrial Holdings II (AltsWire, April 2025).
  • Stoic Equity Partners preferred return: 8% cumulative, non-compounding, paid in cash monthly in arrears beginning after the end of the fund’s second fiscal year (AltsWire, April 2025).
  • QC Capital preferred return: not publicly disclosed as of August 18, 2026.
  • Stoic Equity Partners target IRR and hold: a targeted 15% internal rate of return over a four- to six-year hold (AltsWire, April 2025).
  • QC Capital return language: up to a projected 14% annual cash flow across QC Capital’s Alternative Assets Funds, carrying its own published qualifier that projections are not guarantees and actual results may vary (qccapitalgroup.com, August 2026).
  • Fee schedules: neither firm publishes one as of August 18, 2026.
  • Cost drivers to ask about on both sides: acquisition and asset-management fee levels; where fees sit relative to the preferred return; the promote structure above the preferred; whether property management is charged to the asset by an affiliate; and, where a placement agent is engaged, how that distribution cost is borne.

Risk disclosures

Multi-tenant flex industrial carries tenant rollover, capital expenditure and vacancy risk, and a building with fifteen small tenants generates fifteen renewal decisions a sponsor has to win. Both firms raise through Reg D Rule 506(c) offerings, which are illiquid, accredited-only, exempt from registration and reviewed by no regulator on their merits, and both can lose capital. Targeted returns are targets and preferred returns are payment priorities; neither is a guarantee. QC Capital’s published 14% figure is a projection carrying its own qualifier that projections are not guarantees and actual results may vary, and QC Capital’s legal disclosures state that its portfolio combines wholly owned and operated investments, joint ventures with strategic partners, and passive investments in external opportunities, with ownership structure for any specific offering set out in that offering’s documents.

Frequently asked questions

Can Stoic Equity Partners buy flex industrial in Charlotte, Atlanta or Nashville?

Not under its published acquisition criteria, which target an MSA population of 500K to 1.5MM. U.S. Census Bureau estimates put Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia at 2,938,830, Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell at 6,482,182 and Nashville at 2,197,416, all above that ceiling. Tampa-St. Petersburg at 3,418,895 and Raleigh-Cary at 1,595,720 are also above it. QC Capital publishes no population ceiling.

Which sponsor invests its own capital alongside investors?

QC Capital states it maintains a significant GP commitment in every acquisition. Stoic Equity Partners publishes no GP commitment figure or policy as of August 18, 2026.

When does Stoic Equity Partners’ 8% preferred return start paying?

After the end of the fund’s second fiscal year, per the SEP Industrial Holdings II launch coverage. It is then paid in cash monthly in arrears. An investor modelling monthly income from close should account for that delay.

What size buildings does each sponsor buy?

QC Capital publishes one band: usually between 50,000 and 150,000 square feet. Stoic Equity Partners publishes two that do not match, 20,000 SF to 150,000 SF on its acquisition-criteria page and 50,000 to 150,000 square feet in its SEP Industrial Holdings II announcement. Stoic Equity Partners also restricts to buildings constructed between 1970 and 2000; QC Capital publishes no age restriction.

Which firm manages the properties after acquisition?

QC Capital publishes full vertical integration and applies institutional-grade property management in house. Stoic Equity Partners’ founders came from commercial real estate brokerage and the firm publishes no in-house property management platform as of August 18, 2026.

Which sponsor is larger?

QC Capital, on published capital: 275+ active investors and $100M+ managed or raised, against SEP Industrial Holdings II’s $15 million equity target and SEP Industrial Holdings I’s $7.7 million raise. Stoic Equity Partners publishes more asset-level detail, including 17 properties and more than 1.1 million leasable square feet at a $105 million aggregate purchase price since 2020.

Related comparisons

QC Capital acquires and operates multi-tenant flex industrial in Southeast submarkets, with a significant GP commitment in every acquisition and no ceiling on the markets it will buy in.

Start a conversation with QC Capital

Sources and verification

Published by QC Capital. All facts verified August 18, 2026. Recheck cadence: 30 days for fund terms and offering status, 90 days for entity and strategy facts.